Educational Equity

The Office of Educational Equity enhances interracial and multi-cultural educational opportunities to promote student achievement. We provide training for staff and parents to increase interactions and understanding among members of varying races and cultures within all facets of the Bloomington Public Schools community.

Our Programs

  • OEE Leadership Academy Pk - 12th  Leadership: District-wide
  • Student Equity Teams
    • Kennedy high school, Jefferson High School, Choice
    • Oak Grove Middle School, Olson Middle School, 
    • Indian Mounds Elementary, Hillcrest Elementary, Westwood Elementary, Washburn Elementary, Oak Grove Elementary, Poplar Bridge Elementary, Elementary, Ridgeview Elementary

  • Equity Specialist Assistance
  • Latino Parent Association (LPA)
  • Empowering Parents with African-American Students (EPAS): District-wide
  • Somali Parent Network (SPN)
  • Special Education referral information
  • Student Registration Assistance
  • Early Childhood Screening
  • American Indian Education

The Office of Educational Equity is always happy to hear input from students, parents and community members. If you are interested in joining one of the following advisory groups, please contact us at 952-681-6420.

  • Empowering Parents with African American Students  (EPAS)
  • Latino Parent Association (LPA)
  • Somali Parent Association (SPA)
  • Girls In Real Life Situations (GIRLS)
  • Student Equity Team
  • OEE Leadership Groups

District Advisory Groups

Plan Documents
Equity, Achievement & Integration Plan Presentation
Achievement and Integration Plan

Our Guiding Principles

Commitment to Equity

Equity is ensuring that opportunities, resources and services are distributed to students based on individual needs. We believe that all our students and families have dignity and worth and we value their unique cultures and traditions.

Commitment to Diversity

Bloomington Public Schools is comprised of families and staff with a wide range of heritages, experiences, cultures, perspectives and talents. Diversity is one of our core values and is essential to our goal of putting children first and helping them on their path to college or career readiness. We integrate diversity into all aspects of our mission and culture in order to provide the best quality education to our students and foster lasting relationships with families and the community.

Commitment to Inclusion

An inclusive environment leverages diversity and creates an environment where students, families, community members and employees feel welcomed, valued, supported, listened to, and able to do their personal best. A culture of inclusion increases student engagement, retention and performance by acknowledging that students may learn differently from one another.

We believe that...

  • each person has inherent value.
  • diversity enriches a community.
  • all people have the right to be treated with respect and dignity.
  • a safe environment is essential to the well-being of the entire community.
  • high expectations promote higher achievement.
  • families are the most important influence on the education of their children.
  • each family has the right to receive/request important educational information about their student(s) in their native language.

Contact

Office of Educational Equity
Educational Services Center
1350 West 106th Street
Bloomington, MN 55431-4126

952-681-6420
Fax: 952-681-6411

Language Assistance Line: 952-681-6412

The language assistance line is a voicemail service checked on a regular basis by Spanish, Somali and Vietnamese speakers. Parents can call this line to leave a message that needs to be translated for a particular school building. Staff can call this line and press the language they need and leave a message. A Spanish, Somali or Vietnamese speaker will call them back with translation assistance.

Alejandra Gutierrez
Program Secretary
952-681-6420
agutierreznavarro@isd271.org

Dinna Wade-Ardley
Director, Office of Educational Equity
952-681-6417
952-681-6411 - fax
dwade@isd271.org

Abdirahman Ali Hassan
Equity Specialist, Somali
952-681-6588
ahassan@isd271.org
Niambi Jackson
Equity Specialist
952-681-8617
njackson@isd271.org
Safia Abdirahman
Equity Specialist, Somali
952-681-6410
sabdirahman@isd271.org
Adriana De La Cruz Ventura
Equity Specialist, Spanish
952-681-6039
adelacruzventura@isd271.org
Gema Beltran
Equity Specialist, Spanish
952-681-6409
gbeltran@isd271.org
Chinda Kim Gregor
Equity Specialist
952-681-6415
cgregor@isd271.org
Sammy Pliego
Equity Specialist, Spanish
952-681-5823
spliego@isd271.org
Richard Scott
Equity Specialist
952-681-6414
rscott@isd271.org
Fadumo Hassan
Equity Specialist, Somali
952-681-8976
fhassan@isd271.org
Jessica Martinez
Equity Specialist, Spanish
952-681-6416
jmartinez@isd271.org
Ana Molina
Equity Specialist, Spanish
952-681-5793
amolina@isd271.org
Lawanda Warren
Equity Specialist
952-681-6413
lwarren1@isd271.org
Nancy Castaneda
Equity Specialist, Spanish
952-681-6859
ncastaneda@isd271.org
Vianny Rodriguez
Equity Specilaist, Spanish
952-681-5514
vrodriguez@isd271.org
Hung Phung
Equity Specialist, Vietnamese
952-681-6412
hphung@isd271.org
Lucinda Jones
Equity Specialist
952-681-6437
ljones1@isd271.org